top of page

IFography Discontinuation

'Anything good will eventually come to an end.'

That was something I never liked to believe in. The fact that the cup of coffee that you're

drinking will eventually be emptied, or that your local paper will halt publication one day.

It's alright if you have a long legacy to back your name up, but Ifography hadn't lasted very

long, 4 months to be exact.

I would put the decline of the magazine to a few factors: firstly, me definitely, as laziness

slowly caught up to me in the worst of times, and that I am terrible at managing my schedules,

which gave me little time to handle Ifography. Not to add on, I started playing MOBA games,

which significantly dwindled my interest in IF. I never realised how fun going on 5 against 5

was till I tried League of Legends!

I can still recall that very day when I thought of starting up a magazine: I was in a hotel

room, reading through an issue of SPAG, when I thought, why not start up a magazine of my own? That was before SPAG's revival, and I wanted to entertain the IF masses with up-to-date IF

reviews and content. I went up and contacted Marshal Winter, who authored many games I enjoyed playing, and thus IFography was born.

Initially, I promised myself to keep the magazine going for as long as I can, not wanting to

become many of those generic magazines and blogs everywhere that starts strong at first, but

discontinues after a month or two. I thought that those 'zines were lame, and the writers lazy

and weak-willed. I can offically call myself a hypocrite now.

It was definitely a good run; I really enjoyed writing on this magazine together with the IFF,

whom I joined soon after the 'zine's creation. Many of them are great writers and designers who

dedicated lots of effort to the magazine during its time, specifically Robert Patton and Hanon

Ondricek. I had exposed myself to many IF games, old and new, which improved my ability at

completing them (previously, I couldn't progress at anything without the help of a walkthru!).

So I guess this is it. I'm formally discontinuing IFography, and there will be no further plans

to revive it for the time being. The IFF and I thank each and every one of you who have been

with us since Day 1, and we hope that IF will continue to strive for the future!

Cheers, Matt.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page